The Crow's Dream

Philosophy, geekery, and the meaning if life, and what I read this week…

Bad Retro

with one comment

I grew up watching Mexican Wrestler movies. Perhaps that is why I find Ed Wood so fascinating. There is something about retro that enchants me, and I’m not talking about bad retro here, because there is plenty of that, no, I am talking about horrible retro. For some reason, it  seems to me like the people who made all of those terrible movies were actually having fun with the process, regardless of the results they afforded them.

It really takes a lot of courage to put on a mask and to go out in to a ring when you can’t wear a shirt, and all you have for protection is a little silver cape, especially when facing vampire wrestlers. It’s almost as humiliating as presenting a movie where you have to use the same obviously fake settings over and over again, in order to create stories that may seem incomprehensible to the rest of the world, but  the original Star Trek has a following.

Maybe I love these movies because they transported me as a child despite their lack of polish. Maybe the fact that I could recreate them in my own backyard did the trick. I don’t know, but I suspect that I enjoy them because they demand that I surrender myself completely to them. They also give me permission to not take them seriously, because their only aim is to amuse me. I love the fact that we can be absolutely engrossed by a simple story, no matter how basic it is. I love the “beginners mind” displayed by these films.

I do enjoy art and literature, don’t take me wrong, but tin foil aliens will always have a place in my heart.

Written by Hector

September 4, 2009 at 9:15 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I totally understand where you’re coming from. I think for me the reason I like retro shit is because of the memories it invokes…like a certain time of day in a certain time of year when I was a little girl…or maybe I’m just a sucker for the past. I mean, you know me; I’m into all that 18th and 19th century business. :3

    flayrah

    September 11, 2009 at 3:43 am


Leave a Reply

