The Crow's Dream

Philosophy, geekery, and the meaning if life, and what I read this week…

Ethan of Athos

leave a comment »

Ethan of Athos (Vorkosigan Saga) Ethan of Athos by Lois McMaster Bujold

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Well, Bujold did it again! Another great novel by one of my favorite writers. While it cold be argued that Bujold writes military science fiction, doing so misess the point of her sublime storytelling ablities. Bujold’s fictional universe is consistent and alive, as well as populated by real people you can care about. I honestly think that her stories will, someday, become a part of the literary cannon. The lady can write circles around most other authors. I’m not a big fan The Sharing Knife (yet) but theVorkosigan and the Challion series are sublime. I’m glad I was able to find some more of her works as I recover from being sick.

View all my reviews >>

Note: I wrote this review on June 17th, 2009. I had been sick for only a few days and my health situation had not yet deteriorated to the point it eventually did. While typing this short review was physically difficult, I was only getting a taste of what would come next.  I wasn’t able to write more than a few sentences at a time for many weeks without feeling very sick with vertigo and nausea. I am grateful for those meager sentences, however. Needless to say, my experience gave me a new appreciation and a sense of gratefulness for writing, and of course, for my returning health.

Written by Hector

August 28, 2009 at 3:55 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

