The Crow's Dream

Philosophy, geekery, and the meaning if life, and what I read this week…

Musings On Being Bilingual

leave a comment »

Speaking more than one language is undeniably helpful, but I think it has a few curious side effects. I don’t know if there is any science to back them up, but some times, when I’ve thought about something for a few hours, or after a long day, I find it difficult to continue to be creative in the language I have been used up until then. If I switch to the other language, my brain feels almost refreshed and I am able to tackle some more creative thinking. I wonder why this is so. Maybe I’m using different parts of my brain. It’s like having a backup brain. This may also apply to different skills, like drawing instead of writing. What do you think? Any neurologists out there?

Written by Hector

August 27, 2009 at 2:44 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

