The Crow's Dream

Philosophy, geekery, and the meaning if life, and what I read this week…

Some Hugo Thoughts

leave a comment »

As you know, I’m reading all the Hugo Award nominated novels this year. I tend to read many books at the same time, which is usually not a big deal. I had been listening to the Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, while reading Saturn’s Children, by Charles Stross. However, when I finished the Graveyard Book, and attempted to listen to Anathem, by Neal Stephenson, it became clear that my little “multiple read” stratagem was going to fall apart. Anathem will require that I drop all other reading in order to give it my full attention. I know that I could listen to it and get some enjoyment from it, but that’d be like going to Rome between flights for a couple hours. I was able to pull off reading multiple books before, because I usually read fiction and non fiction together, or maybe light and easy fiction. The Graveyard Book, for instance, has clearly delineated short story like chapters, so I knew where to stop for the day, but, while Anathem is filled with short sections, you need to take your time walking through them. So far, I’ve only read the first chapter, but I can’t wait to go back to the book. It is huge and all encompassing, and I want to get as much out of it as I can. I know I’m going to go back and read it again, after I finish it, but for now, I’ll finish the other stuff. I’ll go back to it when there is nothing but the book itself.

So far, my two favorite Hugo books are The Graveyard Book, and Anathem. I’m still going to wait until I’m done with all of them to give my verdict, but I have the feeling that one of those two is going to win this year–I still haven’t even cracked open “Little Brother,” so that one is still on the docket.

That said, all the books are good, and the authors amazing. There are just some stories that speak to me personally more than others. If the Hugo was given to the whole Old Man’s War series, for example, I’d have to go crazy. Zoe’s Tale by itself is good, but the whole series is great, and a contender, at least in my mind, with all the others. I wonder if I’m just comparing bandannas and pineapples. I’ll keep you posted.

Written by Hector

May 4, 2009 at 1:20 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

