The Crow's Dream

Philosophy, geekery, and the meaning if life, and what I read this week…

The Graveyard Book, Second Hugo review

with 4 comments

The Graveyard Book The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

My review


rating: 5 of 5 stars
This book is decidedly designed with young readers in mind. it is broken up in small chapters. They are almost self contained, and make for great bed time reading. I really enjoyed it, and found myself deeply moved by it. It was exiting and full of mysteries and adventures. I love the way Mr. Gaiman uses telescoping to tell a complete story. His use of language is superb, and poetic. It was a fun read, but more than that, it was inspiring without being preachy. I highly recommend it.

View all my reviews.

Written by Hector

May 2, 2009 at 1:19 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gaiman seems to have his fingers on the pulse–certainly he’s the one author out there who’s capable of working well in a variety of media and for that his fellow authors hold him in esteem (and, at least in my case, envy). My sons liked GRAVEYARD BOOK a great deal..but for the life of us we couldn’t figure out why the man would lend his name and talents to an awful piece of drek like “Beowulf”. What were you thinking, Neil?!!!

    Cliff Burns

    May 2, 2009 at 1:38 pm

  2. Cliff, I haven’t seen “Beowulf,” but it sounds like one of those projects that just “didn’t come out right.” Gaiman is certainly a great craftsman, and knows how to please his audience without losing too much depth. His stories are primal, and belong to the British literary tradition. I’ve enjoyed almost everything I’ve read by him, but I love”Season of Mists,” and “The Graveyard Book” the most.

    Hector

    May 2, 2009 at 1:48 pm

  3. Thank you, Hector, for this review. I read your entry a couple of months ago and decided to buy the Audible book. Since then, I have used it to put my two sons (8 & 11) to sleep. They have really enjoyed the book so far.

    Thanks for the recomendation!

    –==)) Justo ((==–

    Justo

    August 22, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    • Justo–I’m glad to hear that. I love the structure. It seems like it was designed just for that purpose. Coraline is another book they may like, but it is a bit creepy. By the way, Mr. Gaiman won the Hugo again.

      Hector

      August 25, 2009 at 6:33 pm


Leave a Reply

