The Crow's Dream

Philosophy, geekery, and the meaning if life, and what I read this week…

Zoe’s Tale, First Hugo Review

leave a comment »

Zoe's Tale Zoe’s Tale by John Scalzi

My review


rating: 4 of 5 stars
Zoe’s Tale is a standalone book, but in order to understand its magnitude, one has to read the rest of the very enjoyable series to which it belongs. The story takes place in the kind of Universe where humanity has to compete in a bloody struggle to maintain its colonial rule. Zoe becomes a central piece of this struggle. The book is filled with politics, war, and growing up, but even if you don’t like political intrigue or coming of age stories, you are bound to have a blast with this book. However, if you are not familiar with other novels in the Old Man’s War universe, this book may seem like just another good novel, which it isn’t. It is a very, very, very good novel, actually, and you should do yourself a favor and read all four books in scalzi’s fascinating saga, which taken as a whole deserves 5 out of 5 stars. Read the whole thing. It won’t disappoint.

I decided to make an exception to my “I only review books I’ve read after opening my goodreads account” rule for this particular book, because I want to review all of the Hugo nominated novels for this year.

View all my reviews.

By the way, Scalzi has a blog. I’m sure you knew that, but if you didn’t you should check it out.

Written by Hector

April 27, 2009 at 12:53 pm

Leave a Reply

