The Crow's Dream

Philosophy, geekery, and the meaning if life, and what I read this week…

The Hugos

with one comment

I don’t know exactly when, but at some point during my career as a geek, I became aware that there was a thing called the Hugo Award, and that it looked like a rocket. The award list saved me from the endless tedium of bad science fiction. Most of my Science Fiction and fantasy reading habits are Hugo derived–I even had the opportunity to attend the Hugo Award ceremony in 2006, when Spin, by Robert Charles Willson, was the best novel. I am not going to make the ceremony this year, but I am going to read all the nominees for best novel, and for best short story. I am also going to enjoy all the dramatic presentations, in fact, I’ve already enjoyed four of them, but I’ll re-watch them, just because they were all awesome.

You can check out this year’s nominations for yourself if you want to, or go to the list itself, where you will find every novel to ever be nominated or to win a Hugo. So there, if you are looking for a good read, you can’t go astray anymore.

Written by Hector

April 25, 2009 at 12:25 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Hugos are a great way to better your odds of finding the best books in SF/F. I’ve got the complete list on my site in a cover gallery format that you might like: http://www.worldswithoutend.com/books_hugo_index.asp

    There are many other awards in the field for best novel as well that you may want to check out like Nebula, Campbell, Clarke etc. I’ve got 10 awards covered so you can compare lists and find the books that have been nominated across multiple awards to narrow your search even further.

    Dave

    April 25, 2009 at 2:28 pm


Leave a Reply

