The Crow's Dream

Philosophy, geekery, and the meaning if life, and what I read this week…

His Majesty’s Dragon

leave a comment »

His Majesty's Dragon (Temeraire, Book 1) His Majesty’s Dragon by Naomi Novik


My review


rating: 3 of 5 stars
let me start by saying that three stars are not a bad thing. They mean that I like the book, and that I think other people would also enjoy it. The book takes place in an alternative version of the Napoleonic wars, where dragons act as a mysterious, and strangely out of place air force. The book wasn’t life-changing, but it was a fun read, and I liked it a lot. The characters are a little flat, even when the story is not truly plot driven. What makes this book worthwhile is the loving detail with which Novik regales her dragons. Temerarie is a great character, and even his handler, Laurence, comes to live when interacting with him. I enjoyed the setting, and the aerial battles, though I found myself having to ignore the modernization of values present in the Dragon Corps. I didn’t worry too much about it, though, because the book was very entertaining. If you are looking for a good and fun light read, check this book out. You won’t regret it.

View all my reviews.

Note: I am going to start posting my “Good Reads” reviews here. This is the first one (you can check more of my reviews by clicking the link above)

Written by Hector

April 18, 2009 at 2:32 pm

Leave a Reply

