The Crow's Dream

Philosophy, geekery, and the meaning if life, and what I read this week…

The Mistborn Trilogy

with 2 comments

When I was little, I used to run around my house pretending I was a super-hero, mainly Supernan and Spider-man, though occasionally, I became a cowboy or a Ghost Buster. I thought those days were gone, but then I read the Mistborn Trilogy, by Brandon Sanderson.

Not since The Curse of Challion, and the adventures of Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser have I derived so much fanboy enjoyment from a fantasy novel. Sanderson’s work, brought back the long lost fanboy within me. I actually found myself dashing the air with imaginary swords during the battle scenes, much to my wife’s concern. I thought I had actually outgrown the ability to feel this way, and that all that was left was the mere intellectual satisfaction of reading a well crafted piece. I hadn’t noticed how much I missed the world bending immersion of a fantasy book.

Sanderson calls his genre “Hard Fantasy,” meaning that it has a very well defined world and magical system, which provides the novel with a logical framework that satisfied the obsessed scholar within me. I usually avoid fantasy because of it’s gaping plot holes and impossible worlds. while I understand that fantasy is supposed to be about the impossible, I want those impossibilities to make sense, and Mistborn does make a lot of that. The novel is more than just a very well crafted world and magic system. It’s characters are endearing and fun to read. You grow to care about them, which is another important ingredient of good escapist fiction. Though some twists in the book were predictable, many were not, and even when I knew exactly what to expect from the next few scenes, I knew it because they flowed naturally from the previous ones. The novel wasn’t predictable, rather, it was well crafted. Do not let my mention of logic dissuade you from reading this very good book. The whole trilogy will meet the fantasy needs of the those who like mysticism and those who love rationality. I think anyone who likes fantasy will have a good time with it, especially those who are tired of the same ‘ol stories. I really cannot do the books justice, so do yourself a favor and read them. Just be sure to leave plenty of room between yourself and the furniture. You never know what an alomantically powered swing can do to your mug collection.

There are also some cool author’s commentaries in Sanderson’s blog. They are worth checking out after you finish the books.

Written by Hector

April 4, 2009 at 3:03 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Also, the audiobooks of Sanderson’s Mistborn series are out now at Audible and iTunes. They are read by Michael Kramer, who also narrates the Wheel of Time audiobooks.

    liznoland

    April 6, 2009 at 2:11 pm

  2. I’ll have to check these out…I’m reading The Brothers Karamazov though, so it’ll be a while till I can get to them.

    Flayrah

    April 8, 2009 at 11:30 pm


Leave a Reply

