The Crow's Dream

Philosophy, geekery, and the meaning if life, and what I read this week…

Writing

with one comment

There are some things in life that you can’t stop no matter how hard you try. They are traits that might have deep genetic roots or that were strongly inculcated.  In my case, writing is one of those things that I simply cannot quit. I suppose that I would have been one of those tribal storytellers endlessly going on about the deeds of heroes. I have given up on publication and fame, but I can’t give up on writing. The satisfaction I get by stringing words together has nothing to do with the outside world, or even with the results. At some point I have felt like I write well, and like I have meaningful things to say, but the truth is that I usually find myself amusing when I read what I wrote years ago. I have never hated myself for writing something, but I am funny in an embarrassing kind of way. I have written a few good things, and will continue to do so, because you get to the point when not producing a few good sentences here and there is impossible. I’m not great, so in my smallness, and in full humility, I will continue to lay my words before you. I have given my life to the craft, and even if it ends up in journal after journal of inane blabber, I can not help but to be who I am.
I write every day, even if what I scribble never sees the light of day. It is nice to know that I will always have something to work on, and to get better at. We all need a through line to make sense of our lives. Writing is mine. That is one of the many things that I am grateful for this year.

Written by Hector

January 9, 2009 at 8:36 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think it’s impressive how well you write, especially since English is not your first language. 🙂

    Flayrah

    January 11, 2009 at 10:47 pm


Leave a Reply

