The Crow's Dream

Philosophy, geekery, and the meaning if life, and what I read this week…

A Dream of Penguins

with 5 comments

I figured that since my blog has the word “dream” in it, I should begin to share my nightly travels with all of you. This dream inspired me to start keeping a dream journal again. I thought about sharing it here, but it wasn’t until I found other blogs with dreams in them that I decided to do so. 

In my dream I lived in a city with a very large network of interconnected  ponds. They were green and filled with small black fish. The ponds were dark and cool from underneath, but if you swam though them, you could see bright sunbeams cutting their way though the darkness, as shadow fish swam trough them. It was the endless ducts and water filled caverns that attracted the penguin. At first we were proud of him. He was a symbol to our ever growing metropolis with it’s pools and trees, and newsstands. We named him Welleran, but eventually we grew tired of his constant begging. He adopted some of the local folk ways of dressing, which robbed him of his charm. He looked dirty and unkempt. He grew fat until he couldn’t even get out of the pools. For some time, we felt sorry for him, but eventually we lost all compassion. We got used to see him try to struggle his large glistening frame out of the greening pools. In my dream, as he struggled to get out, one of the imaginary pedestrians in my head yelled at him “lose weight!” I felt sorry for him, but I woke up before I could do anything for poor ‘ol Welleran.

Written by Hector

November 12, 2008 at 9:00 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What an awesome, and quite specific dream. I don’t think that I’ve ever remembered a name of anyone in my dreams.

    Drew

    November 12, 2008 at 6:12 pm

  2. Drew– I woke up knowing that the penguin’s name was Welleran. It comes from a fantasy story I never read, but the title got stuck in my brain somehow. The dream was a series of connected images and happenings that seemed to tell a story. I tried to piece them as well as I could when I wrote this post. For instance, I remember swimming though the pond tunnels and looking at the fish. Then I remember walking though the city and seeing the penguin trying to leap out of one of the ponds–as if though my mind had jumped from penguin to pedestrian–I knew that the penguin wasn’t always so big, dirty, and clumsy, so therefore he had adopted new ways. As a pedestrian I remember hearing someone else yelling at poor Welleran and feeling sad, then I woke up. There are some “rules” that always repeat themselves in my dreams, like jumping between characters. I can always do that. Flying is hard, but I can do it if I “move the word” rather than myself. I know that if I had focused on the fish I would have seen a lot of detail, but instead I saw shadows. I think the more attention I pay to my dreams the more I learn about them and their commonalities.

    Hector

    November 12, 2008 at 11:47 pm

  3. Again… that’s a lot of detail. Then again, I have trouble remembering almost everything, so my inability to remember dreams might just be a symptom of that.

    Drew

    November 14, 2008 at 9:22 pm

  4. Welleran! lol
    I’m amazed you can recall so much about your dreams.

    Flayrah

    November 14, 2008 at 11:17 pm

  5. Practice, practice, practice. I bet two could do it too.

    Hector

    November 14, 2008 at 11:39 pm


Leave a Reply

