The Crow's Dream

Philosophy, geekery, and the meaning if life, and what I read this week…

Cough, cough!

with one comment

I’m not feeling well today. Right now, I have a slight fever, and my body hurts all over. My chest is in pain, and so are my legs. I can’t stay up for too long. I have a cold or something like that. I may end up going to the doctor tomorrow or the day after. At some point today I quit resisting the discomfort and just sat down–instead of lying down– and closed my eyes. I tried to breathe as much as I could, and reminded myself that a lot of people have it worst. Eventually, I managed to get up and to pour some water in the kettle. I let it boil and made some green tea in my iron pot. I mixed some ginger honey crystals in my steaming mug. 

I sat on my couch and continued to relax. I had to occasionally clean my nose. I was a long day. At some points I was bored, other times in pain, and some times I felt relaxed. I have very little energy, but I found that even when my legs hurt so much I couldn’t stand I could find a quiet place in me. I don’t know if I could find it if I was in a really bad situation, but I think I can use my cold as practice. Maybe if I get better at finding that place when I’m very uncomfortable and in pain, I will be able to find it when I am truly in pain, and when I’m being selfish or ignorant.

Written by Hector

November 4, 2008 at 1:48 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is a very good idea. In fact, I can’t think of a better way to practice, or a more important thing to master.

    I’m not at that point yet but it’s time I started training. I still sometimes skip meditation just because I didn’t get a good night’s sleep. That has to stop.

    wisdomjunkie

    November 14, 2008 at 2:27 am


Leave a Reply

