The Crow's Dream

Philosophy, geekery, and the meaning if life, and what I read this week…

Deep Sea Fish

with one comment


Oh nature, always surprising us with amazing stuff. I thought these were awesome. I first heard about them in NPR. Can you imagine living under so much pressure? There is an amazing documentary called Blue Planet. It shows some incredible footage of a deep sea salt lake. Some of the scenes in the film still haunt my dreams. The irony is that I found this video next to very obviously fake UFO footage. I know that fish are not as exiting as supposed extraterrestrials, but science requires that we learn to appreciate it. Actually, The Book of Tea talks, about an art critic who feels he grew as a critic when he learned to appreciate art:

A master has always something to offer, while we go hungry solely because of our own lack of appreciation.

I think the same is true of science. The more we grow, the more we can appreciate the wonders of the world, and the less we need to resort to pseudoscience and superstition to be amazed by reality. I am, by no means, claiming that there is a conscious master behind nature–He is talking about art, and I’m talking about science, but the point is that we need to develop our skills of appreciation to understand how awesome simple things are.  We can be awed by delving and understanding the kind of causes and effects that might have lead these fish to evolve, especially when we consider that we share at least 500 of their genes.

being scientifically illiterate robs us of the appreciation many of us could have for nature, buy stopping us at the junction between our opinions, wishes, and fantasies, in contrast to  what is truly out there. I remember spending a lot of time trying to figure out what “spirit animals” meant, rather than understanding the true genetic affinity we all share with the animal kingdom. I sought to understand what my mind projected upon nature, rather than comprehending the unbreakable biospheric bond we share with bacteria and oaks. 

I have found more love and compassion for people, when I think of ourselves a a part of the cosmos, than when I think of us a separate from all there is–as if we belonged to another version of the universe that we will not se until after we die. 

In any case, enjoy the fish!

Written by Hector

October 20, 2008 at 10:24 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I loved the Blue Planet series.
    So much beautiful footage and info.

    Flayrah

    October 22, 2008 at 1:55 am


Leave a Reply

