The Crow's Dream

Philosophy, geekery, and the meaning if life, and what I read this week…

The Golden Compass

with 5 comments

There are a few good books out there, but there are even fewer really good books. Most of them seem to be the ones we read when we were younger, because when a book manages to stand the test of adulthood, then you know that there is something magical about them.

The mainstream has embraced fantasy as a valid form of literature. Consider that books like The Lord of The Rings and Harry Potter are no longer something only strange geeklings read. In my opinion, however, there are only three great fantasy series. The Golden Compass is one of them.

Phillip Pullman’s fantasy is relevant and irreverent. It uses not dead myths, but living ones, and it creates a world that feels real in our gut. I never thought there’d be a movie based on is work. The use of the world daemon, for instance, will cause a lot of controversy amongst the religious, but that is nothing compared to the controversial ruffian behind the whole of reality.

The Golden Compass is fraught with actual mythology and current philosophical and theological debates. That’s why it is so good. I cannot wait to see the movie. Other fantasy based movies have been very good, but the Golden Compass, if done properly, may change something in the way we see the world.

By the way, you should go take the Daemon test in the movie site. Mine was a crow!…No surprises there!

Written by Hector

May 12, 2007 at 12:35 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I found a book like of which you speak. “LENNY” ISBN# 1424163781 by Robert Anaya Ramirez see page @ http://www.publishedauthors.net/lenny

    In a time I was fascinated with Piers Anthony and Terry Brooks. So yes, I will enjoy Golden Compass

    lennyarcy

    May 12, 2007 at 1:01 pm

  2. Hmm, I’ve been in need of a new series to get into now that the end of Harry Potter is nigh. I think I’ll check it out.
    By the way, you’re totally right about the best books being the ones written for children/young adults.

    Harry Potter

    May 13, 2007 at 6:58 pm

  3. By the way, I took the Daemon test two times, I got a tiger both times. 🙂

    Harry Potter

    May 13, 2007 at 7:18 pm

  4. Always looking for a good read. I will take your suggestion. I will leave you with one. Imajica, Clive Barker. Fantasy and much more.

    enreal

    June 14, 2007 at 5:28 am

  5. Thanks Enreal! I’ll check it out… I’ll be able to read it now : )

    (see next post)

    Hector

    June 14, 2007 at 11:37 pm


Leave a Reply

