The Crow's Dream

Philosophy, geekery, and the meaning if life, and what I read this week…

Kurt Vonnegut

with 3 comments

I just found out about Vonnegut’s death. I was going to wait until the week was over to begin posting again, but I am not going to do it. I will miss him. I never knew him, but that’s what happens when you read a lot of what an author has to say. You feel like you know them. I never feel free to talk to living writers in the way I imagine I have conversations with Mark Twain or with Ben Franklin–Ben had conversations with the gout. I got the idea partially from him, actually.

Literature lets you become a part of the conversation the overall scheme of humanity has been having for quite a while. Kurt was one of those guys who contributed to the conversation. I suppose that his contributions will make him immortal. I think I’ll enjoy his writing more too, now that I am very humanistic and very secular.

In a way, my relationship with Kurt hasn’t ended. Maybe I’ll even read some more of his books, now that I feel less weird imagining that I am talking to him.

Vonnegut wrote about the truth without selling snake oil. People who read his books were usually grounded in reality. I think they saw their imagination as a tool to discover the truth trough fiction, and not as a way to put a gossamer filter of lies above it. Mr. Vonnegut made me cry and laugh at the human condition, but never asked me to deny reality. Some times it scared me to see how raw the world is, and for the best part of my time on this world I preferred the snake oil. No more. Not ever.

So, Kurt, now that I don’t feel strange talking to you, I want you to know that your words are with us. Thank you for the truth as you saw it.

Written by Hector

April 12, 2007 at 9:47 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Absolutely True!! I enjoyed his works… he is not “just another humorist” as he has been referred t0.

    clash

    April 13, 2007 at 4:02 am

  2. […] on my psyche. Although most of the searches on net gave accounts about him as a plain humorist but this very piece gives an account of what he really […]

  3. His books are life changing, and in more ways than one…did you know that it’s thanks to Mr. Vonnegut that Drew and I became interested in each other?

    Harry Potter

    April 13, 2007 at 4:23 pm


Leave a Reply

