The Crow's Dream

Philosophy, geekery, and the meaning if life, and what I read this week…

My Advocacy of the World of Star Trek Like Goodness

with 2 comments

I was sick for the past few days. I was so sick that I put my iPod in the freezer on Friday and I still have not figured out why. I couldn’t write and I couldn’t read because my mind couldn’t make sense of anything written. In the end, I went to the library and got myself a stack of Star Trek goodies to keep me company as I sneezed on the computer screen that showed them.

Let me be honest, although the new Vulcan is more pleasing to the eye than any other science officer ever, and although Scott Bakula is awesome (he has been a childhood hero of mine since Quantum Leap), and although it was great to see a Southern guy–one of my favorite characters– talk about catfish on the decks of the starship Enterprise, the show is clearly six years old. It wasn’t awful, and it did pass the endless hours of nose drainage my cold brought with it, but it wasn’t Heroes or Battlestar Galactica. Still, I decided that I now have a new mission. I want to make this world as much as Star Trek as I can possibly make it.

We live in a heartbreakingly awful world, and I’m not being a pessimist. Not even those who’ve achieved an okay level of material comfort seem to be happy. It seems like humanity needs a new doze of purpose, now that god is dead, we can either set up a worship camp around the corpse in the hope of resuscitating it, or we can build a pyre that points to a new myth. I’m not saying that jump suits and pointy ears and computers that go “bleep” “bleep” are the way to go, by no means, but I am saying that I understand a little better why that one lady wore her outfit to court. It was cheesy and strange, but important. We are at that point where many of us are desperately pointing out that there are better ways to live our lives. Ways that may not involve talking to the air or killing people. Maybe there are ways to remain unique and to hold on to our culture, and to what we love without having to give up our integrity, or our commerce.

In any case, Star Trek is one of those little guilty pleasures that help me to feel better when I’m down. I don’t own anything Star Trek related, nor do I intend to, but it’s fun to go where thousands of fans have gone before once in a while. It keeps me going.

Written by Hector

March 27, 2007 at 9:49 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I guess we all need an outlet…the freezer? I ask you…

    Harry Potter

    March 29, 2007 at 8:02 pm

  2. I know… The freezer… Sorry?

    Hector

    March 29, 2007 at 8:22 pm


Leave a Reply

