The Crow's Dream

Philosophy, geekery, and the meaning if life, and what I read this week…

Podcasts You can’t Miss

with 2 comments

The idea of having to listen to an uninteresting show on some one else’s schedule is as foreign to me now as owning a car in New York. City Podcasts changed the way I listen to information forever. I recently bought my first new car–I don’t life in New York–and one of the main selling points the Yaris had going (other than the crazy good gas millage) was the iPod connectability. Podcasts follow the idea of the long tail, which basically says that in today’s interconnected world, finding someone who likes exactly the same stuff you do is not as hard as it used to be. Of course, most of my readers know this already, but I suspect that they are also very close to me as far as the long tail goes, so I figured I’d step out of my traditionally opinionated blogeries, and that I’d post a list of my favorite podcasts in no particular order. I am not going to include vlogs or videocasts in case I run out of stuff to say later on.

The List (in no particluar order)

Escape Pod: Produced and edited by Steven Ealy and his minions, this podcast features original science fiction stories of very high caliber. The stories are well read and very cutting edge. A must for every science fiction fan who yearns to read more, but can’t.

I Should be Writing: If Natalie Godlberg made me write, Mur Lafferty made me want to publish. A candid and authentic podcast that takes us in to the world of an aspiring writer who knows enough about the craft to teach us a thing or two, but who is far enough from the dream for us to relate. Mur’s show offers tons of great advice and showcases a lot of professionals, but my favorite episodes by far are the ones that feature Mur’s unedited rants about the writing life. These are the episodes that have inspired me to pick up the pen and let go. Mur is as real as it gets, especially for those of those still looking for a writer’s community. If you find your fledgling enthusiasm for the pen flaking in to dry pudding, give yourself a doze of Mur and you will be writing in no time.

Mac OS Ken: Ken rules. Ken rules. Ken rules. If you like to stay up on the latest Mac news and gossip, but are too busy doing whatever it is you do, let Ken guide you through the labyrinths of Appleness, and serve yourself a cup of fresh kenly goodness. In under 20 minutes, you’ll be up to date with all things mac, and you’ll be laughing aloud as you learn from the master.

MacCast: If you do have time to suck the marrow out of your mac, then allow Andrew’s wisdom to light your path. He is the sensei of all mac things, as well as the light and the way. If you want your friends to be amazed by your deep software ninja tricks, listen to this guy, and you’ll be a black belt in no time.

DC Comics Podcast: They’ve got some of the best interviews out there. I always wanted to know a lot more than I did about Brian K Vaughan’s creative process, and I did, thanks to this podcast. If you want a truly in depth look at how comics are made, check this one out.

Wired: Some day, I’ll be on the cover of wired. In the mean time I listen to their podcast, and read their awesome publication. Alt Text is my favorite.

Grammar Girl’s Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing: Good and brief. Wisdom. Short.

Geeks on: I love these guys. Imagine a sports show but without the sports. The geeks are the commentators that we missed in jock land. They talk about comics, video games, computers, technology, science, and all of those things we’ve grown to love and enjoy. Listening to this guys is like spending an hour or more chilling with your geek friends.

I’m still looking for some good science news. I tried to keep the list to stuff I listen to religiously, and I’m sure I’ll think of more as soon as I publish this, but at least this should keep you busy. Send me suggestions if you have any, and good listening to you! (oh, NPR’s podcasts are quite good too).

PS: For those of you who are wondering who my “readers” are (since my blog is so young) check out my older .mac feed here.

Written by Hector

March 15, 2007 at 8:53 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, I’m in the same paragraph as Natalie Goldberg. Thanks a lot for the comment and the link. I’m so glad the podcast is helping you.

    And glad you like the unedited rants. Maybe I’ll do more of those. 🙂

    Mur

    March 17, 2007 at 2:30 pm

  2. Thanks Mur!

    thecrowsdream

    March 17, 2007 at 2:47 pm


Leave a Reply

